On rainbows, green and promises.

Rainbows seem brighter in Natal. Or maybe…just maybe…I’m starting to see them in the light that they were created…

I haven’t seen many of those since I moved to KZN in July but the ones that I do see, seem brighter than the ones in Cape Town. Everything seem brighter here. Especially green. Green is really, really green here. Cape Town has a wider variety of greens,though. There is the dirty green of fynbos and the dusty green of eucalyptus. There is the light green of young vineyards and the bottle green of old ones. There is a very particular olive green; a brownish green. With a warm undertone. Which is strange because green is a cool colour. There is the deep green of Groenberg and the purple-like green of almost-ripe figs. I love looking at landscapes and counting all the different tones of one colour I can see. Cape Town on a canvas will keep me busy for quite a while.

But Natal is just overall bright green. One green. Grass green. Always. Even when it is dry, it is green. And somehow grass green enhances the colours of the rainbow.

Recently I was driving on the N2 with the waves of the Natal Coast crashing to my left and vast landscapes of green stretching until it blends with blue to my right. Just driving. Because that is what I do when I need to breathe. And not having my car with me for more than a month stretched me way beyond what I thought it would. To be honest: I really think the timing is kind of off for being so far away from my family and support network. And I was telling God just that. That I am emotionally completely drained. That I am feeling intensely alone.

Then I saw it. An extremely bright rainbow. And it took me back to Easter Weekend 2017 when the Lord gave me a promise: “Stop inhibiting me. I’m taking you on a journey. You don’t know where we’re going but I promise you that I am with you. I will never leave your hand.”

“For all the promises of God find their Yes in Him.” – 2 Cor. 1:20

Jesus. I love you. Rainbows are reminders of His goodness. His faithfulness. His grace. I am not alone.

And neither are you, my friend. Because even though you may not have specific promises like this one I have, you have the Bible filled with promises for all of His children. Stand on them. Study the word. Know what He has for you and claim it because Jesus fulfilled every one of those promises on the cross. Victory is ours for the taking.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

